WZ – FKOFd038 - FatKidOnFire Presents

WZ – FKOFd038

FatKidOnFire Presents

It’s rare to receive demo material for potential releases and want to sign it on the spot. It’s rarer to sign all of it, for more than one release and on more than one format. But that’s exactly what happened when a folder of beats from the Czech Republic landed in the inbox earlier this Spring. With FKOFd038, we’re again welcoming a new family member to FKOF Records and we couldn’t be more excited to be working with WZ!

If you cast your eyes and ears back to a Boiler Room set from two years ago, you might have heard the mighty Ishan Sound play a track called ‘Death Struggle’. That was one of the first tunes we heard from WZ’s studio – piquing our collective interest with its effectively simple ‘beats, bass and space’ recipe. We kept in touch with David over the years; following his releases on Czech collective Harmless Youth, alongside appearances on eatmybeat and Iolab. He hit us up with a few unsigned bits recently and his FKOF Records debut came about pretty quickly after that…

FKOFd038 opens with that BR track from two years ago – Death Struggle – ably demonstrating our love for keeping things as simple and weighty as possible. It’s a meditative stepper, albeit with a few on-edge synths to keep you on your toes! Gas Out follows, with its weighty kick and mysterious atmospherics dropping into a full-blown roller. It’s an ear-worm, but one we’ve been testing to great effect in the dance over the last few months. Fwaah and Chambers close WZ’s FKOFd038, produced in relatively quick succession together and again highlighting the Czech musician’s skills on the buttons. Fwaah ratchets the tension up with its intro before revealing its powerful low end and crisp percussives. Chambers is a wholly different affair with its relaxed vibe and meditative qualities.  

We’re really excited to see where WZ and the Harmless Youth crew go and we’re even more excited to be welcoming WZ back to the FKOF Records roster for a future release very soon. We’ve enjoyed pulling FKOFd038 together and we hope you enjoy it as much as we do…

FKOFd038 is available from the FKOFd Bandcamp and Juno from 16/08/19. It goes on general release (via  all other good electronic retailers) two weeks later. You can find the release archive across all platforms while you’re at it. And, as always, thanks and love to M7 Grafiks for the visuals and Beat Chef Mastering for the tasty masters!

Click to DOWNLOAD (91.5MB)

Track list:

  1. WZ – Mayuri Kurotsuchi
  2. WZ – Death Struggle
  3. WZ – Dossier
  4. WZ – Headcleaner
  5. Headland – Camino
  6. ESP – News Flash
  7. Meddem – Gopres
  8. Ruda/Rapture 4d – Left Hand Path
  9. WZ – Creaks
  10. Ternion Sound – Sway
  11. Cel – D.T.T.T.
  12. Ramsez – Talk Crim
  13. WZ – Hangover
  14. WZ – Fwaah
  15. Meddem & ESP – Retrospect
  16. Somah – Meek Dub
  17. Baileys Brown ft. Bogues – Bouwtchu

Producers, if you’ve got tunes for us, please feel free to send them our way.

Peace, love and respect.