No Hype Just Bass - Lutetia Dubz x FatKidOnFire

No Hype Just Bass

Lutetia Dubz x FatKidOnFire


At the end of November last year, we uploaded what is one of my favourite FKOF free downloads of 2013. Nibe?’s ‘Lost Dreams’ remix of Guts’ ‘What Is Love?’ had wracked up over 10,000 plays on SoundCloud before he offered it to us as a FKOF free – and we’ve been talking to the French producer and label owner since we discovered it.

His Lutetia Dubz collective is taking 2014 by the horns, celebrating their 5th anniversary with a new initiative called Fine Cuts. The initiative is a way for the minds behind Lutetia to explain their influences, the sounds they love and their vibe in general. The first instalment of this fortnightly mix series is out today; a 21m-long mix with more unreleased tunes than you can shake a stick at (with a few upcoming tunes on the imprint as well) ahead of their first No Hype Just Bass (definitely a concept we can get behind!) dance of the year at Glazart, one of Paris’ major venues. And if the line up for the event on the 17th is anything to go by (Biome, Prism, Drazel and Nibe?), the year’s going to be a good one for the bass music scene in the French capital…

You can stream Fine Cuts #1, as well as grabbing the download and reading more about what Lutetia are aiming to do with the initiative, below. Check out No Hype Just Bass out on Facebook here – and keep an eye on the Lutetia SoundCloud and Facebook accounts in two weeks for Fine Cuts #2!

Lutetia Dubz - Fine Cuts #1

“21 minutes to enter Lutetia Dubz’s intricate universe.

“Every other week Lutetia’ll bring to you a selection of sounds and beats she listens to and that inspire her, allowing you to grasp the musical worlds her vibe comes from. Because Lutetia Dubz doesn’t solely exist on dubstep and bass; Fine Cuts is a way for you to enter her bubble, a bubble that has bounced from legendary composers’ beats to the high soaring flow of experimental music. It’s a way for us to explain her tastes and choices, while also delivering them to you on sick sets all around the world.

“This project is also a way for us to celebrate Lutetia Dubz’ 5th anniversary, how she’s grown into a fit young woman, and how unique and sophisticated she’s become.”


Track list:

  1. Nikki Marie – Familiar [dub]
  2. G Double – Her Eyes [dub]
  3. Joel Culpepper – Passenger (El-B remix) [Free]
  4. Jay 5ive & Dark Tantrums – Untitled [dub]
  5. Nibé – Another Thing (VIP Mix) [dub]
  6. Subtle Mind – Be Eazy [forthcoming Lutetia Dubz]
  7. Bisweed ft. Margaret – Secrets [forthcoming Lutetia Dubz]
  8. Stepz – Casa Rosa [dub]

Buy the ‘No Hype Just Bass’ t-shirt (modeled by Charlotte Guignard) here
Photo by Sandra Horodniceanu


Peace, love and respect.