Tour De Force – Battle Cry - FKOF Review

Tour De Force – Battle Cry

FKOF Review

One of the topics I enjoy banging on about (at great length and to anyone who’ll listen) is the global proliferation of bass music. That might not be your favourite topic of conversation, but for me it’s a continued source of amazement just how far dubstep (and its companion genres) have grown in my (almost four) years in the scene.

Every time I go abroad, be that to Sweden, Lithuania, Holland or any of the countries I’ve ventured to, there’s always a friendly face and a love of our sound to overcome the sometimes frustrating language barrier.

The following sound system, label and bass music collective, based in Brooklyn, New York City, are another perfect example of this musical expansion. It all started as a production and DJ collaboration before leading to the (now-iconic) 15,000-watt handcrafted wooden speaker stack dubbed the Tower of Sound (shown below). Or as Fact Mag put it;

“The idea behind both the label and sound system is to help bridge the gap between the traditional Jamaican roots of sound system culture – down to hand-crafting your own speakers – and its growing modern diaspora manifested most evidently in the rise of bass music culture around the world.”

In just 18 or so months, Double Tiger and DJ Q-Mastah, along with their system and imprint Dub-Stuy Records, have gained a reputation as one of the leading crews behind the resurgence and development of dub reggae and sound system culture in America…

Following the release of the remix EP Old Time Love, Double Tiger and DJ Q-Mastah’s Tour de Force recently announced a full-length album on Dub-Stuy.

Battle Cry is the duo’s debut album on their imprint, a ten track behemoth that features all-star cast of vocalists from around the world. Or as the duo put it:

“The album includes legendary Jamaican tenor Luciano on Where Do We Go Wrong and UK-based emcee Brother Culture with his trademark spitfire delivery on Roots Lyrics. Battle Cry also features Brooklyn’s own Jahdan Blakkamoore on the summer-themed Pool Party and Jay Spaker on both Old Time Love and the militant A Little Bit More.”

The album is available on both vinyl and digital (you can find all the buy links here) and is supported by a four country/ six city tour. There’s also a dance happening in Brooklyn tomorrow night – info and tickets here.

Dub Stuy

“Restoring the centrality of sound system culture in the evolution of contemporary bass music is an explicit goal of Tour de Force. By connecting the dots between old and new, Battle Cry stands as a metaphor and manifesto for this ambition. The 10-track LP takes the listener on a musical journey through the genre-bending contours of dub, reggae and electronic music with each track adding its own twist to the overall story. Taking inspiration from the multifaceted dimensions of Brooklyn, Battle Cry is dark and gritty yet upbeat and, at times, soulful. Despite this dichotomy of sounds and styles, each track is connected by the duo’s affinity for righteous horn lines, trance-inducing dub echoes and powerful skanks underpinned by heavy lines of pulsating bass. Battle Cry was made deliberately for the sound system and will most likely sound better on one!”

The duo recently put a guest mix together for Reggae Roast (track list and download link below), accompanying an interview which is definitely worth reading. We’ve also got an exclusive sneak peak of the Battle Cry video teaser – which you can view below…


Track list:

  1. Tour De Force vs Al Campbell – The Power Dubplate [Battle Cry Riddim/Dub-Stuy]
  2. Tour de Force vs Johnny Osbourne – Soundboy Prayer (TDF rxclusive)
  3. Tour De Force ft. Brother Culture – Roots Lyrics [forthcoming Dub-Stuy]
  4. Tour De Force – Tiger Style [forthcoming Dub-Stuy]
  5. Tour De Force vs Wayne Smith – Sleng Steppa Dubplate [Pool Party Riddim/Dub-Stuy]
  6. Bent Backs Sound ft. Johnny Osbourne – Can’t Take the Pressure [forthcoming Bent Backs]
  7. Taiwan MC – Mrs Chang Dubplate [Gizmo Riddim/Jahtari]
  8. Tour De Force – Warmongers [forthcoming Dub-Stuy]
  9. Alpha Steppa – Back Jah remix [forthcoming Grand Ancestor]
  10. Double Tiger vs Unknown – Scotch Bonnet Pepper remix (TDF exclusive)
  11. Double Tiger vs Aidonia – OK Kush remix (TDF exclusive)
  12. Dub Smugglers vs Wailing Souls – Jah Give Us Life remix
  13. Tour De Force – A Little Bit More feat. Jay Spaker [forthcoming Dub-Stuy]
  14. Adam Prescott ft. Cornel Campbell – Dem a Bawl [forthcoming Hundred Years]
  15. Joe Ariwa – Trip to Africa Dub [forthcoming Ariwa Sounds]

Battle Cry track list:

Side A
A1. Battle Cry
A2. Roots Lyrics feat. Brother Culture
A3. Strong to Survive
A4. Pool Party feat. Jahdan Blakkamoore
A5. Old Time Love feat. Jay Spaker

Side B
B1. Tiger Style
B2. Where Do We Go Wrong feat. Luciano
B3. A Little Bit More feat. Jay Spaker
B4. Warmongers
B5. The Traveler

Dub Stuy

Peace, love and respect.